Zao - The Fear Is What Keeps Us Here

Zao - The Fear Is What Keeps Us Here
  1. Physician Heal Thyself


  2. Pudgy Young Blondes With Lobotomy Eyes


  3. Killing Time 'Til It's Time To Die


  4. Everything You Love Will Soon Fly Away


One of the most relaxed recording experiences I've ever been involved in. We had 12 days booked at the studio and finished a day ahead of time (not without taking two breaks to watch the Steelers in the Playoffs).We tracked the record with Steve Albini at Electrical Audio in Chicago and so everthing was done live to tape except for some guitar overdubs here and there and the vocals. Basic tracking was done in two and a half days. Over dubs and vocals took another two days. The rest of the time was mixing.

The album was released in two different formats. The first was the stand-alone disc. The other was a limited edition with expanded cover art and a "Making Of" DVD. There is also the Japanese pressing floating around with our cover of Black Flag's "Black Coffee" on it, or so I've heard, I've never actually seen a copy. We did 2 tours on this record and then the band went on a touring freeze prompting me to move to NYC and start anew.

Released June 13, 2006 
Format: CD/DVD
Label: Ferret Records

Dan Weyandt - Vocals
Scott Mellinger - Guitar, Vocals
Martin Lunn - Bass, Vocals
Jeff Gretz - Drums

Purchase on Amazon
Purchase on iTunes
Zao on Facebook
Zao on Twitter